Jennah Mitchell's Musings

A compendium of thoughts, ideas, projects, and more

Wednesday, April 27

Well…much to my dismay, I have done what I hoped would not happen: I let myself get off track with both my habits and my posting schedule. (cue the deep sigh) I find that with anything, once I get even a little bit behind, I tend to almost give up altogether, because the thought of catching back up seems so daunting. A bad way to go, to be sure, but it is what inevitably happens. In reflecting on this, I believe I have at least some idea of why I failed here:

1. I failed to take longevity into consideration. My schedule of daily events was good… for a week.  But it really was not sustainable based on my family’s schedule – especially when I take Derrick’s work schedule into consideration.

2. I failed to be specific. I am a detail person… and my plan for my habits was anything but detailed.

3. I failed to set a specific timeline for when I would complete these things… a surefire way for me to have room to procrastinate – one of my major weaknesses, which leads to the issue of getting so behind that I fail to complete something. A vicious cycle to be sure.

Here are my new thoughts moving forward:

Monday: Cooking/Reset Day – This is the day I plan to pick up the pieces of the weekend, so to speak. We really want Sundays, especially, to be family days so I will need Monday as a way to get back on rack with work and house things. As for my work, I will use this day to bid projects and catch up on email and project submissions from the weekend. I will cook anything that I can in advance for the week. We will also try to make Monday a pool day for Jaylin.

Tuesday: Organizing/Paperwork/Outing Day – This is the day I plan to implement an O.H.I.O. plan (only handle it once) where I go room to room picking up and putting things in their proper place. I also hope to use this day to update my check register, pay bills, and file as necessary. I typically feel like actually getting out of the house on Tuesdays too, so having this day as a time to either do a fun art class with Jaylin or go meet a friend would probably work great.

Wednesday: Coupon/Meal Plan/Catch-up Day – Since the inserts come out on Wednesdays, I plan to use this day to plan my shopping as well as plan my meals for the week. I will also bid on new work and submit completed work for projects that I have open. Kylee normally is here to play with Jaylin for a few hours after school too, so it gives me added time to work.

Thursday: Errands/Organizing/Cleaning Day – I will hit up the Post Office and bank (and try to take a treat to Fresh Life) as needed, and take time during the girls’ naps to clean my room, the bathrooms, and the kitchen. I will also spend at least 10 minutes returning stranded items to their appropriate places. Ideally, we will be able to take Jaylin to the pool as well.

Friday: Laundry/Work Day – Try to wrap up work for the weekend, and try to get all laundry done in one fell swoop. Kylee is usually here on this day as well, so I will use that time to work and do bidding and project submissions.

Saturday: Heavy Cleaning/Errand/Park and Pool Day – This is another day to do errands and try to take Jaylin to the park or the pool, as well as to try to do heavy cleaning such as vacuuming, chemical-cleaning, and cleaning out the cars with Derrick when the girls are sleeping. Since spring and summer are arriving, we will try to go to the Farmers’ Market too.

Sunday: Shopping/Family/Adventure Day – After Church, I really want to be able to just be with family; take a drive, go on a walk – whatever we want to do without work distractions or interruptions. During the girls’ nap, I will do my coupon shopping.

Here is how I plan to schedule out each day:

Monday

– Up at 5:30 to shower, pick up the bathroom, grab coffee, and spend an hour or so planning my day/week and catching up on work emails, bids, and work submissions. This should take me up to 7am or so.

– Make breakfast at 7am and get Derrick’s lunch ready

– Do any advance cooking for the week and be just a mommy and nothing else until they take a nap at 12:30, at which point I will spend an hour and a half or so working

– Start dinner at 5 so we can eat at 5:30 and head to the pool

– Tuck Jaylin in at 8:00 after we get back from the pool, and work/pick up until 9:30

– 9:30 is time to spend with Derrick and hopefully get to bed by 11

Tuesday

– Up at 5:30 to shower, pick up the bathroom, grab coffee, and spend an hour or so planning my day/week and catching up on work emails, bids, and work submissions. This should take me up to 7am or so.

– Make breakfast at 7am and get Derrick’s lunch ready

– Pick up as moments allow, and run any errands or see any friends before the girls take a nap at 12:30, at which point I will spend an hour and a half or so working, filing, and doing bills and entering in checks

– Start dinner at 5:30 so we can eat at 6

– Tuck Jaylin in at 7:30 and work/clean until 9:30

– 9:30 is time to spend with Derrick and hopefully get to bed by 11

Wednesday

– Up at 5:30 to shower, pick up the bathroom, grab coffee and the paper for coupons, and spend an hour or so planning my day/week and catching up on work emails, bids, and work submissions. This should take me up to 7am or so.

– Make breakfast at 7am and get Derrick’s lunch ready

– Go through the paper and my coupons (eBay coupons if needed) while Jaylin watches a show, and then be just a mommy and nothing else until they take a nap at 12:30, at which point I will spend an hour and a half or so working and meal planning

– Kylee is here from 4-6 so I can work

– Start dinner at 5:00 so we can eat at 5:30

– Tuck Jaylin in at 7:30 and work/clean until 9:30

– 9:30 is time to spend with Derrick and hopefully get to bed by 11

Thursday

– Up at 5:30 to shower, pick up the bathroom, grab coffee, and spend an hour or so planning my day/week and catching up on work emails, bids, and work submissions. This should take me up to 7am or so.

– Make breakfast at 7am and get Derrick’s lunch ready

– Pick up as moments allow, and run any errands including to Fresh Life and the park for Jaylin if possible before the girls take a nap at 12:30, at which point I will spend an hour and a half or so cleaning my room, the bathrooms and the kitchen; any time left over will be spent working

– Start dinner at 5:00 so we can eat at 5:30

– Leave for the pool after dinner

– Tuck Jaylin in at 8:00 and work/clean until 9:30

– 9:30 is time to spend with Derrick and hopefully get to bed by 11

Friday

– Up at 5:30 to shower, pick up the bathroom, grab coffee, and spend an hour or so planning my day/week and catching up on work emails, bids, and work submissions. This should take me up to 7am or so.

– Make breakfast at 7am and get Derrick’s lunch ready

– Pick up as moments allow, and be just a mommy until the girls take a nap at 12:30, at which point I will spend an hour and a half or so working and doing laundry

– Kylee is here from 4-6, so I can work and finish and put away the laundry

Start dinner at 5:00 so we can eat at 5:30; FAMILY NIGHT

– Tuck Jaylin in at 7:30 and work/clean until 8:30

– 8:30 is time to spend with Derrick and hopefully get to bed by 11

Saturday

– Sleep in: Derrick makes pancakes for the girls and I get up around 8:00 to shower and get ready by 9:00

– Run errands with the family, clean out the cars, and go to the park if the weather is nice

– 12:30 the girls are napping so Derrick and I can do some heavy deep-cleaning; any time left over before they wake up is personal time for Derrick and I to get to read or do whatever we want until the girls are up and we all hang out again

Start dinner at 5:00 so we can eat at 5:30; FAMILY NIGHT

– Tuck Jaylin in at 7:30 and work/clean until 8:30

– 8:30 is time to spend with Derrick and hopefully get to bed by 11

Sunday

– 6:30 get up and get ready for Church

– 8:00 breakfast and then leave for Church by 8:35 – pick up a Sunday paper on the way

12:30 naptime for the girls, and time for Derrick to have personal time while I go to shopping for the week; when the girls get up we all hang out and maybe go to the park or on a family outing

Start dinner at 5:00 so we can eat at 5:30; FAMILY NIGHT

– Tuck Jaylin in at 7:30 and work/clean/prep for the week until 9:30

– 9:30 is time to spend with Derrick and hopefully get to bed by 10

This may seem hyper-detailed to some people…and it probably is.  But I think it will help me stay on track. We will see how it goes!

Cheers!

JP

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Wednesday, April 27

  1. I love your honesty. Trying to change habits is so intense, I don’t think we realize how difficult it really is until we try. I am impressed that you mapped out such a detailed plan/goal for this week. I am anxious to see how it goes!!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

